On the other screen

    Jack had just came home after a tiring schoolday. The teachers had railed at him for not completing his work, and for having an attitude problem. Well, screw them, he thought. One day, I’ll just set up my own company and get rich! Who needs math?

    Throwing his bag deftly into his dustbin, he dropped into his computer chair, and turned the computer on. He had 3 new messages.

The first was an online subscription to a webcomic. It notified him that the latest installment of First Fantasy, Strip 664, was ready! He clicked the relevant links and spent ten minutes laughing at the latest exploits of Sun, the goody-goody hero.

The second was a Friendster update. It told him all the updates his friends had undergone. Through the email, he found out that some unknown friend had received three new testimonials, some other guy had added two friends, and some other OTHER guy had added two pictures to his gallery. He browsed through random Friendster profiles for several minutes after that, looking for new girls to add.

The third mail was unassuming, and the first thing Jack thought as he opened it was the stark lack of pictures, and the capitals. It started like this:

PLEASE SIR MY GRANDPATHER JUS DIED AND HE LEF BEHIND TWO BILLION DOLLA FOR ME

And ended like this:

IF YOU HELP I’LL GIVE YO THREE MILLION DOLLR FOR UR TROBLES.

ERIC CARTO GOVINDASAMY S/O PIKACHU NATHAN

“Damn it!” If there was one thing Jack could not stand, they were these scams. He had heard of many such email scams on TV and in the newspapers, but this was the first time he received such a baiting email. Serves me right for signing up for so many online newsletters, thought Jack. Now they found out my email through somewhere and added me to their list of possible victims!

He smirked. “Well, I’m not gonna fall for that trick! You Nigerians can go and die!” He clicked the “Report email as phishing?” button before deleting it, satisfied grin forming on his lips.

*

Meanwhile, in Nigeria, a young man in a tuxedo checked his mail anxiously. No, no mails. Wait! There was one! He clicked it excitedly, hoping that he would not be disappointed.

“SCREW UP YOU F***ING JEWS! I WUN FALL 4 UR TRIX!”

He was.

He mopped his sweat with his handkerchief. There were only two days, and if no one replied to help, he would lose the money to the state!

Just then, another email came in.

“Hi, Eric, I am willing to help. I am on a flight to Nigeria now. I have the check with me.”

At last!

*

The bank, slightly disappointed, could not find any problem with the check, and the accounts were processed, and Eric was suddenly a few billion dollars richer.

“I thank you, great sir!” said Eric to his benefactor.

“Call me Nick. And it is no problem at all, really. I just did whatever I could.”

“No, I insist that you take this.” Eric took out a checkbook from his now expensive-looking Western suit, and signed on one check with a flourish.

Nick beamed, and did not refuse the check being pushed towards him. “And now, Eric, I have to catch the flight back!”

Eric smiled. “I will miss you, brother! But we will still contact each other via email, no?”

“Of course we will, Eric,” Nick exclaimed as he hopped off to the departure hall. Later on, on the plane, he opened the check for “Three Million Dollars Only”, and smiled to himself.

8 responses to “On the other screen

  1. lol. what happened to jack after that?

    “SCREW UP YOU F***ING JEWS! I WUN FALL 4 UR TRIX” – uh, lol
    ERIC CARTO GOVINDASAMY S/O PIKACHU NATHAN – HAHAHAHA

  2. jack will hear the sucess story and change his mind. he will help the next guy and get scammed

  3. lol! funny, do more!

  4. The risk of getting scammed is still moar than success.

  5. teacher who is a jew: “SCREW UP YOU F***ING JEWS! I WUN FALL 4 UR TRIX!” this is a very important quote you must remember it.

    student a: yes sir SCREW UP YOU F***ING JEW! I WUN FALL 4 UR TRIX!

    teacher: what the *uck did you just say?
    student a: oh sorry sir i forgot its jews not jew… so sorry

    mooty this is quite cool write more!

  6. I didn’t think that was very funny. Perhaps because you told me this before.

  7. i still dont understand this story. at all.

  8. yea maybe u shd add in sum roxy girls for jonlian so he can understand >.< haha, just kidding ;p

Leave a Reply

